Famous People from Franklin: The Prolific and Picturesque Franklin Notables

Franklin, Indiana is a mid-sized, Midwestern town just south of Indianapolis, one which has spawned more than the usual percentage of notables. Although the roster of famous people from Franklin, Indiana is an inordinately long one, few of the Franklin residents are truly household names across the United States.

Mention should be made here of a small group of Franklin residents that became famous back in the 1920’s. Known as the “Franklin Wonder Five,” this group was a basketball team that made it big in the competitive world of greater Indianapolis basketball by walking off with the Indiana State Basketball Championship for three years running.

This article provides a list of the well-known and famous people of Franklin, with links to pages with detailed individual bios for some of the most widely-recognizable.

Famous People from Franklin, Indiana

  Roger D. Branigin served as the 42nd Governor of Indiana from 1965 until 1969, and ran for the U.S. presidency in 1968.
  George D. Crowe, named the very first “Indiana Mr. Basketball” in 1939, played both basketball and baseball professionally for many years. The Franklin Community High School‘s baseball field was named for him.
  The Franklin Wonder Five was a famous high school basketball team from the 1920’s that not only took home the Indiana State Basketball Championship three years in a row, but also beat a Detroit pro-basketball team not once, but twice, setting a sky-high standard for Hoosier high school basketball.
  Hal Fryar, a present resident of Franklin, Indiana, hosted a WFBM-TV show for Indianapolis children from 1960 to 1972, and made a name for himself as WRTV’s Channel 6 television‘s show host of The Three Stooges, out of Indianapolis. Fryar is considered an important figure in greater Indianapolis media.
  Marjorie Main, beloved across the globe as “Ma Kettle,” resided for a time in Franklin and went to Franklin College there.
  Jon McGlocklin’s name appears in the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame. Born in Franklin in 1943, McGlocklin played basketball at the Indiana University, later winning the 1971 NBA Championship with the Milwaukee Bucks.
  Paul V. McNutt held the vaunted office of Governor of Indiana from 1933 until 1937. He was born in Franklin, Indiana in 1891.
  Fred L. Paris is the current Mayor of Franklin, Indiana. He is the city’s first Independent mayor.
  Jon Schaffer, founder of renowned band “Iced Earth,” was born in Franklin, Indiana in 1968. The band is still active and internationally well-known among Heavy Metal fans.
  Jean Donald Swiggett is a renowned painter, lithographer and muralist who was born in Franklin in 1910. The mural that presently adorns the Franklin U.S. Post Office, partially pictured here, is one of his works.
  Max Terhune made some 70 movies between the years of 1936 and 1956, mostly Westerns. He was born in Franklin, Indiana in 1891.

Franklin People

The Franklin Wonder Five | Jon Schaffer | More Franklin People

Indianapolis People

Indianapolis Artists | Indianapolis People in the Media | Indianapolis Musicians | Indianapolis Sports Figures | Indianapolis Writers | Indianapolis Infamous People | More Indianapolis People

Famous Indiana People

Anderson Famous People | Avon Famous People | Bargersville Famous People | Brownsburg Famous People | Camby Famous People | Carmel Famous People | Cicero Famous People | Crawfordsville Famous People | Danville Famous People | Fishers Famous People | Fortville Famous People | Franklin Famous People | Greencastle Famous People | Greenfield Famous People | Greenwood Famous People | Indianapolis Famous People | Lawrence Famous People | Lebanon Famous People | Martinsville Famous People | Mooresville Famous People | Noblesville Famous People | Plainfield Famous People | Shelbyville Famous People | Westfield Famous People | Zionsville Famous People | More Indiana Famous People